Delta Assembly Completes Screening Of Commissioner-Designates - The Top Society

Delta Assembly Completes Screening Of Commissioner-Designates

Eight Nominees Added


DELTA State House of Assembly, have concluded screening of nominees whose names were forwarded to it by Governor Sheriff Oborevwori for appointment as Commissioners and members of the State Executive Council in accordance with section 192 (2) of the 1999 constitution as amended.

At the conclusion of the Delta State House of Assembly screening, eight more nominees were added to Batch B for screening. Having passed the screening tests and scrutiny, the additional nominees were confirmed.

Therefore, 26 Commissioner Nominees have been successfully approved by the State Assembly for ministerial appointments.

It is the responsibility of the House of Assembly to screen and review the qualifications and suitability of ministerial nominees, both at national and state level.

The additional nominees are: Jerry Ehiwario from (Ika South), Dr Kingsley Ashibuogwu from (Ndokwa East), Darlington Ijeh (Oshimili South), Emamusi Obiodeh (Isoko South), Perez Omoun (Patani), Weyinmi Agbateyiniro Isaac (Warri South), Etagherure Ejiro Terry (Ethiope West), Jamani Tommy Ejiro (Sapele).

Their appointments were confirmed following majority vote by the plenary, led by the Majority Leader, Hon Emeka Nwaobi, and adopted.

The screening exercise was presided over by Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt Hon. Emomotimi Guwor.

At the plenary, Hon. Emomotimi Guwor expressed ‘gratitude to honorable members of the house, for their commitment to the screening process and living up to the constitutional responsibility of the House.’

Congratulating Gov.  Sheriff, Guwo announced that the 26 confirmed nominees are all bonafide Deltans, ready to serve in the State Executive Council (SEC), as provided in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He further encouraged the designates to “help drive the MORE agenda of the state government and ensure it succeeds in delivering dividends of democracy to the people.”

Additionally, the Governor’s request for Bill approval of the development of 2.5 Megawatts Independent Power Plant, IPP, at Owa-Alero in Ika North East Local Government Area, were granted by the State House Assembly, right at the plenary.

Recall that the first and second batches of the 26 commissioner designates, were last week, screened and confirmed for appointment by the Assembly.

Share this Article
Leave a comment