JUST IN: Kano Tribunal Sacks NNPP's Yusuf, Declares APC Candidate Winner - The Top Society

JUST IN: Kano Tribunal Sacks NNPP’s Yusuf, Declares APC Candidate Winner


The Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has sacked Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf and declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Nasir Gawuna, as the victor of the March 18 election.

Yusuf, who had contested under the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), had been declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). However, his APC rival, Nasir Gawuna, challenged the result in court.

Abba Kabir Yusuf

In a notable ruling delivered by a three-member panel, the tribunal ordered the withdrawal of the certificate of return previously presented to Governor Yusuf by INEC. In its place, the tribunal directed that a certificate of return be issued to Nasir Gawuna.

Nasir Gawuna

The pivotal aspect of this decision was the deduction of 165,663 votes from Governor Yusuf’s total tally, all of which were deemed invalid votes. This invalidation was attributed to the reasons that the 165,663 ballot papers lacked the necessary stamp or signature, rendering them ineligible.

Read also: Enugu Governorship Election Petition Tribunal Judgment Looms

Share this Article
Leave a comment